SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM 2021 - now closed!

The Scholarship Program of the Japanese Cultural Society of Maui is a cultural scholarship awarded to High School seniors, and UH Maui College full time students who are pursuing further education with a record of involvement in promoting and perpetuating the Japanese culture or Japanese language and a desire to continue to do so.

JCSM will award three (3) $1000 scholarships and one (1) recipient of the Asa Ellison Memorial Scholarship Award for an applicant who has shown grit in learning and in the perpetuation of the Japanese language – at $1750.

● The applicant must be a resident of the island of Maui.
● The applicant must be a graduate of the class of 2021 from a high school on Maui OR a current full-time student at the University of Hawaii Maui College.
● The applicant must complete the Scholarship Program Application Form and submit all the requirements by the deadline.


Other conditions for selected recipients:

Scholars must be able to appear in person to accept the scholarship from JCSM at a designated place and time, which is typically at its Maui Matsuri celebration. In case of a virtual event, scholars will be requested to submit a 2-minute acceptance video, which will be shared on JCSM's platforms. 


About Asa Ellison

JCSM honors its late president Asa Ellison who unexpectedly passed away in March 2020 because of cancer. Ellison was a tour guide with JTB, a celebrated photographer and has served on the JCSM board for many years. He began learning Nihongo (Japanese language) as a student of then-Maui Community College and fully embraced the Japanese culture since. Ellison spoke Japanese fluently and often shared about the importance of perpetuating the language in JCSM’s mission.

From Hawaii News Now archives: Beloved longtime Hawaii photographer battling terminal cancer


Past Recipients


  • Leilah Eusebio
  • Elise Aquinde
  • Teige-Anna Barcoma Suyat
  • Cassidy Hanano

2021 Scholars




  • Lannie Hisashima
  • Sarah Fusato
  • Nadia Apo Takayama
  • Kara Nakahashi



  • Petynn Kubo
  • Lexi Yokote
  • Zhenni He


  • Leslie Kimura
  • Tiara Kobayashi-Bautista